Video: Community presents 1,800 signatures to IndyPL Board

After their still-unexplained decision to refuse to hire Nichelle M. Hayes as the Library’s leader, the community quickly gathered a massive number of signatures denouncing the Indianapolis Public Library Board of Trustees in December 2022.

Watch as former Library worker delivers the petition with over 1,800 signatures to the Board. He is accompanied by long-time community organizer Tony Davis, AFSCME Local 3395 President Michael Torres, immediate past president of the Black Caucus of the American Library Association Shauntee Burns-Simpson, and president of the Indiana Black Librarians Network Mahasin Ameen:

The fight is far from over. Stay tuned to the Indianapolis Liberator for updates on the library struggle!