Free Titan Kelly, wrongly convicted for returning expired tear gas to crooked cops!

Update: The petition below, first opened on October 12, 2021 after the brutalization of Jermaine Vaughn, closed for signatures on November 9 the same year.

Indianapolis is wracked with injustice under Democratic–Republican control. On Thursday, October 28, Titan Kelly was convicted on two counts of “battery against a public safety official” for returning expired tear gas canisters to IMPD officers who fired them during the uprising against racism.

A panel appointed by the City to review the actions of IMPD during the rebellion found that IMPD’s actions led to the damage done to downtown businesses: “It was only after officers began deploying gas that the crowd began to engage in property damage.” Despite this finding, the Democratic City-County Council continues to give the police more money to terrorize us.

None of the cops who fired tear gas—a substance banned from use in actual war—at peaceful protesters exercising their supposed “right” to assemble have been charged with felony battery, despite the documented fact that many people suffered injuries due to their wanton police violence. Only a handful of officers who have been caught explicitly on film brutalizing people have been charged—and only because they lied about it on police paperwork later on. None have yet been convicted of their clearly documented heinous crimes against the people.

Marion County Superior Judge Clayton A. Graham, a Republican judge, sent Kelly immediately to jail after conviction, a rare step for low-level offenses. Kelly is a trans person being housed in the men’s jail, where deputies have demonstrated a putrid disregard for human life. At the time of this writing, Marion County Sheriff’s Office continues to withhold life-saving medication from Kelly. The jail death rate in Indy is double to triple that of the national average. Indiana’s jails are little more than death camps for people of oppressed races, nationalities, genders, and class.

These problems are deeply-rooted and cannot—or will not—be reformed out of the criminal justice system. The system of capitalism and processes of mass incarceration, gentrification, impoverishment, displacement, and ethnic and class cleansing of the land are tightly woven, and its effects are keenly felt in Indianapolis. The people of this place deserve better than this.

While our criminal injustice system charges peaceful protesters with battery for trying to keep their comrades safe during an uprising against racism, we charge that system with genocide.

  • End the war on Black America!
  • End the war on trans people!
  • Unite to create a better society!
  • Free Titan Kelly!
  • Free Jermaine Vaughn!
  • Jail all terrorist cops!

Read more about the struggle to free and drop charges against Jermaine Vaughn and to remove IMPD Chief Taylor here.

Signatories, listed alphabetically

ANSWER Indiana
Indy10 Black Lives Matter
Indy SURJ – Showing Up for Racial Justice
Jewish Voice for Peace – Indiana
Party for Socialism and Liberation – Indianapolis
Queering Indy
St. Paul’s On The Way

Community signatories

Savannah Montoya
Morgan Ness
Amanda Wilkerson
Michaelyn Meave
Megan Day
Austin Long
Shirley Grigsby
Rachel Weidner
Michelle Haddix
Kristin Zielinski
Harmony Glenn
April Doner
Kitari Moffett
Denise Lytle
Julia Peterson
Mary M
Michelle O’Connor
Camilla Rodriguez
Laura Henderson
Linsley Godhigh
Anna Boone
Christie McCauley
Brandi Metzger
Jesse Brown
Riley Bove
Derek Ford
Stephen Lane
Derek Ford
Lindsay Littrell
Justin Clark
Jennifer Hughes
Franklin Oliver
Yadsy Prisciliano
Savannah Montoya
Mary Padd
Alyssa F
Robert Thompson
Logan Ray
Esmé Barniskis
Abe Roll
Kiana Klein
gara gaines
Loki Cinaed
Mary Moree
Maxine Wallace
Jarrett Cloud
Chessa Johnson
Jenni White
Riley Bove
Jeremy Algate
Kei Williams
Austin Long
Madeline Higgins
Kady Ellison
Daniel Cox
Connie Thompson
Zach Farber
Tray Fullenkamp
Seth Anderson
Zach Bellma
Darla Kelly
Shannon Brown
Perrin Shore
Valerie Taylor
Jeremy Taylor
Rachelle Bales
Ray Hudson
Calab Sterling
Jessica Ruwoldt
Rachelle Bales
Lori Van Fleet
Craig Freshwater
Daniel Sanger
Leora Gregory
Jade Veirs
Rylee Sickmann
Maso Kibble
V. Luna Chase
Eleanor Hernly
Forrest Hosea
Paul Kenfield
Andi Fogt
Zak Rittenhouse
Karalyn Fark
Jessie West
Nathan Erdel
Ashley Scott
Rebecca Arvieux
Christie McCauley
Traci Keyster
Sara Howe
Jessica RingPalmer
Kaleb Jackson
Amanda Landis
Stevie Sprouse
Jason Boyask
Tony Mayes
c wheeler
Hilary Batty
Cameron Kelly
Nicholas Guerrisi
Mitchell Duncan
Lyon Mercaeant-Koohns
CJ Holm
Hannah Guy
Megan Carnell
Sharada Shastri
April Eales
Alexander Leisz
Erica Steib
Shira Feigelstein
James De La Vega
Kaci Nicholson
Ashley Buys
Sarah Bond
Alex Hunt
Spencer Wilson
Benjamin Hiatt
Aly Austin
Harris Quinn Jr
Mari Avon Trapp
Arminda Jackson
Emily Jackson
Steven Coleman
Michelle O’Connor
Rev. Rebecca Yowler
Alisa Swindell
David Peterman
Addy Smith
Teagan Widmer
Deborah Haber
Andrew Padgett-Hunt
Tawni Marshall
Tula Newman
Darci McWilliams
Lily Lawson
Kole Durant
Asa Farmen
Jessica Danon
Lafayette Louise
Shiloh Sage
Dorian Mays
Jacy Macchia
Quinn Houlihan
Jessie Miles
Elijah Blackwell
Angie Egler
Amena Serrano
Jordan Smith
Brady Laughlin
Calvin Campbell
Edward Austin
Heather Husvar
Stefany M
Ryan McGrath
Jayne Walters
Rusty S
Charles Taylor
Mahasin Ameen
Allison Birney
Alyssa Geisler
Ryn Proffer
Colin Birney
Luna Bones
Jay Daniels
Zac Cooper
Britt Sickmann
Kelly Vance
Emily Coffey
Alix Michelfelder
Steven K
Jacob Watkins
Kyra Slattery
Case Jacobus
Fairbee Max
Wesley Stevens
Christin Correll
Anthony Ferrante Ferrante
Shawn Wlodarchak
Emily Fisher
Nicholas Hoopes
Jay Cougan
Ryan Shephard
Elizabeth Gallegos
Cheyenne Brooks
Chris Brummett
Tara Smith
Damon Babbage
Kirsten Barrix
Jordan Thomas
Adam Faircloth
Nick Pattengale
Jen Jansson
michelle Panyik
Janet Franklin
Anthony Stancombe
Chelsea White
Tim M
Rustina Parker
Cambria York
Nathan Erdel
Douglas Ambrose
Jason Lewan
Jasey Kieninger
Jaime Alaniz
Jayden Kennett
Hayley Sisson
Katie Grause
Katherine Flores
kade taylor
Kayla Higgins
Leeyb Hayes
Holly Sheridan
Hannah Cartwright
Kaleigh O’Grady
Aimi Zuki
Karen A
Bethan Smith
Chris Currie
Brian Holcombe
Leah Lacey
Gio Torres
Valerie Fernandez
Ada Lynch
Andrew Hoernschemeyer
Dana Dobbins
Thomas Ramirez
Maya Gilstrom
Abe Roll
Eliza Kosobucki
Joey Switzer
April Doner
Anna Lynch
Briar Whit
Kendra Bernens
Lori Peterson
Gerardo Ortega
Megan Day
Sarah Price
David Berry
Michael O’Flynn
Erin Brady
Wilfredo Ayes
Wilfredo Ayes
Elisabeth Huls
Christopher McDavid
Tonya Jewell
Corey Armstrong
Sarah Spiewak
Riley Johnson
Tiger Onyx
Caitlin Collins
Summer Banks
Tramayne Boudreaux
Derek McDowell
Stacy M
Eli Morey
David Peterman
Sean Neal
Danielle Davenport
Tig Pollum
Jasmine Draper
Denise Lytle
Trisha Alfs
Andrew Fink
Denise Lytle
Cierra Johnson
Martin Clinch
Mika Karnessis
Steven Kent
Chase McIntosh
Camille Klein
Francesca Canter
Raven Andresen
Grace Mitchell
Taylor Dickerson
Jarrod Koester
Sawyer Heitman
Nat Stephens